School Logo


General Information


National Curriculum

The National Curriculum is organised into blocks of years called ‘key stages’ (KS).

  • Key Stage 1 is from 5 – 7 years, encompassing Year 1 and Year 2 children;
  • Key Stage 2 is from 7 – 11 years, encompassing Years 3, 4, 5 and 6 children.

The stage before the age of 5 is referred to as the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS).

Curriculum Overview


Please click each of the subject areas for further information.

Amendments to the Summer Term topic plans

Some topics lent themselves to online learning more than others so in some classes topics have been changed around slightly. Rather than make the changes on the topic plans we have listed them below:

Reception - no changes

Year 1 - all the Geography topics have been completed. Both the Spring Term and Summer Term History topics will be taught in the Summer Term:

Holidays - How have holidays to Cornwall changed?

Air and Space Travel - How has air and space travel changed?

Year 2 - all the Geography topics have been completed. Both the Spring Term and Summer Term History topics will be taught in the Summer Term:

Changes in farming this century - How have our local farms changed?

How did Grace Darling make a difference? Link to the Victorians - life then and now, safety at sea

Year 3 - RE in the Summer Term has been changed to:

What kind of world did Jesus want?

What do Christians learn from the Creation Story? What is it like for someone to follow God?

In History, the topic of 'Local Area - Mining' will now be taught in the Summer Term.

Year 4 -  no changes

Year 5 - Computing in the Summer Term has been changed to:

Earth and Space

Interactive Art Exhibition

Year 6 - Computing in the Summer Term has been combined with David Hockney and the children will be producing pictures using an Art app on the iPAD replacing the Appy Times Part 2 unit. 

Geography - Explorers will be taught instead of Climate Change and Conservation (already completed)

Art - Fabric unit - this will be combined with the textile DT unit - making PE bags. The printing unit will now be based around the art work of Kehinde Wiley. 

The teachers or curriculum leaders will be pleased to answer any questions that you have about the curriculum. 

Curriculum Leaders

Literacy Mrs James
Numeracy Mr Pay
Science Mrs Parker-Jones
Computing Mr Pay
History Miss Richards
Geography Mrs Heathcote
RE Mrs Burrow
DT Mrs Raynham-Dobb
Art & Design Mrs James
Music Mrs Burrow
PE Mr Collacott
PSHE Mrs Raynham-Dobb & Mrs Burrow
Early Years Mr Collacott


Information on Assessment


We use assessment continuously to inform the next step in learning. It is a central part of the teaching and learning process and teachers assess skills, knowledge and understanding informally on a daily basis. This informs the next step in learning and helps teachers to provide work at an appropriate level for each individual child.


In addition to the informal assessments, a number of formal assessments take place each year.

The formal testing procedures are currently as follows:


Reception     The Foundation Stage Profile


Throughout the Foundation Stage, as part of the teaching and learning process, teachers and teaching assistants assess each child’s development in relation to the developmental age-related stages which form part of the ‘ Curriculum Guidance for the Foundation Stage’. These assessments are made on the basis of the teachers and teaching assistants accumulating observations and knowledge of the whole child. By the end of the foundation stage, the Foundation Stage Profile sums up that knowledge.


Year 1          The Phonics Test


This is a national test taken by all Year 1s. Children are expected to reach a pass mark. If they fail to do so, they re-take the test the following year. As part of this test, the children are expected to read phonic combinations and words. The pass mark has been 32 for several years out of a possible total of 40. 


Year 2          End of KS1 Assessments


Tests are taken in Maths (a Reasoning paper and an Arithmetic paper), Reading and SPAG (Spelling, Punctuation and Grammar). The raw scores are then converted to a scaled score. Those who have a scaled score of 100 or above are deemed to have met the national expectations at Year 2.


Year 4


From 2021, Year 4s will take a statutory multiplication test.


Years 3, 4 and 5


Although not statutory, our children take end of term tests in Reading, SPAG and Maths. The results of these indicate whether they are working at the expected standard, below or above. The assessments reported to the parents are in the form of a Teacher Assessment but the results of these tests will have been used to inform this.        


Year 6          End of KS2 Assessments


Children take tests in Maths, Spelling, Punctuation and Grammar (SPAG Test), and Reading. The teacher also gives each child a Teacher Assessment result for Writing and Science. These are reported alongside the test results.


If you require any further information, the class teachers will be pleased to help you.